

English language panels: 12pm to 2:40pm Finnish presentations: 3pm to 6pm

English language panels will focus on major environmental challenges in Antarctica, including marine conservation; Antarctic policy perspectives from the point of view of the foreign affairs community; Antarctic science challenges including climate change; and academic views on challenges the Treaty System has faced in the past 25 years.



Speakers include: Kees Bastmeijer, Evan Bloom, Claire Christian, Fausto Lopez Crozet, Pata Degerman, Jane Francis, Timo Koivurova, Pascal Lamy, Stephanie Langerock, Ole Arve Misund, Jana Newman, Akiho Shibata, Burcu Özsoy

Finnish language presentations will focus on Finnish Antarctic research activities, including funding, expedition logistics, and research on atmosphere, ice and snow, bedrock, micro organisms, and arctic marine technology.

Speakers include: Hanna Pikkarainen, Mika Kalakoski, Juho Vehviläinen, Aki Virkkula, Hermanni Kaartokallio, Jukka Tuhkuri, Leena Leppänen, Jyri Näränen, Arto Luttinen

Refreshments will be served halfway through each set of panels.

The event will be live-streamed at:

https://www.helsinkikanava.fi/fi/web/helsinkikanava/player/event/home?eventId=238103501

Sponsors: the Arctic Centre of the University of Lapland, University of Helsinki, the Polar Institute of the Wilson Center (USA), the Polar Cooperation Research Centre (PCRC) of Kobe University (Japan) and the Finnish Ministry of Foreign Affairs









Antarctica today — shared challenges for science and environmental protection in the final frontier

A public seminar held on the occasion of Finland hosting the annual Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meeting.



PROGRAM OF THE ENGLISH SESSION

12.00 Introductions

Welcome, **Timo Koivurova**, chair of event, Arctic Centre, University of Lapland Greeting for Wilson Center, **Evan Bloom**

Host Country initial remarks

Introduction to science and environmental work of the ATCM, **Birgit Njastad**, Chair of the Committee for Environmental Protection

12.10 Panel 1: Major Antarctic environmental challenges, moderator Timo Koivurova

Pata Degerman, Explorer

Pascal Lamy, Antarctica 2020

Claire Christian, Antarctica and Southern Ocean Coalition ASOC

12.40 Panel 2: Major Antarctic policy priorities, moderator Evan Bloom

Stephanie Langerock, Head of Belgian Committee for Environmental Protection delegation

Jana Newman, New Zealand ATCM head of delegation

Fausto Lopez Crozet, Argentina ATCM head of delegation

- 1.40 Coffee break
- 1.40 Panel 3: Antarctic science challenges and climate change, moderator Evan Bloom

Jane Francis, British Antarctic Survey

Prof Burcu Özsoy, Turkish Antarctic Program

Ole Arve Misund, Norway Polar Institute

- 2.10 Panel 4: Academic panel on challenges the Treaty System has faced in the past 25 years,
- 2.40 moderator Timo Koivurova

Kees Bastmeijer, University of Groningen

Akiho Shibata, PCRC, University of Kobe

Evan Bloom, Wilson Center